Poets logo

Daylight Comes

ECLIPSE, ECLIPSING, ECLIPSED

By Monique HardtPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Daylight Comes
Photo by okeykat on Unsplash

Every day since my betrayal, your icy rage I ignore.

“Coffee.” Within your toneless voice, my damnation.

Left often loveless, what choice was left me for?

In the eclipse of your success is my coldest isolation,

Parroting day after day the same lackluster home chore,

Shackled to the agreement that I, myself, signed with appreciation.

Even damnation does not compare to loneliness past.

***

Ere I was groomed to want marriage and nothing more.

“Comply with your husband. Care for his next generation.”

Lord Almighty convinced me of your kindness and decorum.

I wept in gratitude for the devil I married, my salvation,

Parroting day after day the same mediocre tasks or

Shining only with the light permitted me for conversation.

In faith and family, agreements and vows I explored

Never realizing who I sought most was beyond my situation.

God is me. I am her.

***

Eclipsed by your luminous accomplishments, I crave more.

"Cheater," they whisper in your ear.

Like my desires could be so simple.

If my sins to you remain so clear,

Prove them.

Seething and praying to your God won’t stop what’s in store.

Even your eclipse will end.

Daylight cometh and with it, the keys to my freedom at last.

Acrostic

About the Creator

Monique Hardt

Monique Hardt is a longtime lover of the fantastical and the impossible, crafting works of both poetry and fictional prose. She began writing books at the age of ten and has been diligently practicing her craft ever since.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Brin J.2 months ago

    Oh. OH! I like what you did here. And I bet it was no easy feat, trying to start each sentence with the respective letter so it reads clearly and maintains the aspects of both the acrostic and the significance of the eclipse. I can tell you put effort into this. <3

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Ah freedom!!! Lovely!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Behold the keys to your freedom!! Loved it😍

Monique HardtWritten by Monique Hardt

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.