Poets logo

Dear Bigots

If you are offended by the word "bigot," this story is for you

By Monique HardtPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Dear Bigots
Photo by Corey Young on Unsplash

Dear Bigots,

If you are not the one who took offense to something,

you have no right, no space, no room, to say:

“You’re overreacting.”

“You just want to be the victim.”

“I don’t understand why you’re so angry.”

“I’m a [x] and I don’t get offended when someone says [y] to me.”

//

I’ll say it again.

If you are not the one who took offense to what was said,

you have no right to criticize.

It isn’t difficult to say,

“I’m sorry,”

“I don’t want to make you feel uncomfortable,”

“I want to understand you,”

“Tell me more about you and your walk of life.”

//

Dear Bigots,

We of the 21st century

Don’t need your hatred here.

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Monique Hardt

Monique Hardt is a longtime lover of the fantastical and the impossible, crafting works of both poetry and fictional prose. She began writing books at the age of ten and has been diligently practicing her craft ever since.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Yes!! Well said! 👏👏

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Exactly!

  • Iris Harrisabout a year ago

    Exactly! We don’t need them.

  • Completely with you on this and a worthy challenge entry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.