Poets logo

Darling, Darling

Love poetry

By Imabong FaminuPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Darling, Darling
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I open my eyes As the first few streaks of morning sunlight stream in Highlighting your peaceful features as you sleep I turn towards you to admire your sleeping form Your quiet breathing accentuated by the calm Rise and fall of your chest Your arms around a pillow And your body curled in a slight fetal position

I watch mesmerized as the bright rays Outline your sleeping silhouette Bringing pleasurable reminders of our shared nights My eyes rove over you as you enjoy the last minutes of morning slumber Oblivious to my silent perusal

I could lay here for hours Staring at you in silent awe and wonder Hardly believing that you are mine And that we get to spend our best years together It’s you and me baby now and ever

Darling these morning moments enthrall me I look at you and thank heaven we found us And I get to love, cherish, adore and enjoy you Live and grow old together Vowing to love no other

They say relationships are work I say we can because we have each other And I fully commit to learning every intimate part Of your body, heart, mind, and being Loving all of you and giving all of me Because Darling, you don’t know what you do to me

Your eyes flutter open and I am caught Staring intently down at you Your brows come together as your eyes hold mine Searchingly ascertaining if all is well Then as if finally convinced, you bestow me with a smile Something akin to a second sunrise

I touch my lips to yours As I scoop you up to lay atop me My arm coming around you As I cradle your head closer So, burying my face in your hair I say 'Good morning Darling'

© Imabong Faminu, 2020

love poems
1

About the Creator

Imabong Faminu

I write poems about life & love. I write about movies & other things. Want to know more about my work? Click link below for more info

https://linktr.ee/Imabongfaminu_wordsrwine

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.