Poets logo

Darling

A Free Verse Poem

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
Darling
Photo by Marcel Ardivan on Unsplash

Darling, do you love me the way I am?

Broken into a million pieces.

I can’t hide them. I’m sorry.

But I will try still.

For you, I will try to be perfect.

For you, I will try to be enough.

.

Darling, is it okay I’ve fallen backwards?

Stumbled so many steps back

I can’t see the light ahead. I’m sorry.

But I will get up.

For you, I will stay standing.

For you, I will keep going.

.

But darling, what are you doing?

Here with me on my path

when you could be leagues elsewhere. I’m sorry.

But you’re staying.

For me, you’re helping pick up my pieces.

For me, you’re helping show the light.

.

Darling, I feel myself changing

all because of your love.

I can see more clearly now. Thank you.

And here I stand with you.

For me, I see my worth in your eyes.

For me, I feel myself mended anew.

.

Darling, I understand now.

Here on this path of mine

I am not broken or lost. Thank you.

I walk with you and your love.

For us, we walk together, always.

For us, we walk as one, always.

.

And Darling, I will stay with you

for when your path becomes rocky too,

as you have done for me. I love you.

We see strength in ourselves and each other.

For us, we are moving forward, together.

For us, we are standing tall, together.

.

Together and always.

Mental HealthStream of Consciousnesslove poemsinspirationalGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: lindsaysfara.com

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • John Cox4 months ago

    This is a beautiful, meaningful poem. I felt the love expressed in every line. Wonderful writing. Congratulations on your Top Story! It is well deserved!

  • Beautiful.

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    Tenderness and frank realism are deftly blended herein.

  • Blissful romance ❤️loved the story

  • Love your words and the amazing image

  • Fly Alone5 months ago

    Beautiful indeed ❣️

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    In sickness and in health, this poem is a tribute to true love and what it means.

  • Sara Wilson5 months ago

    Beautiful work. Congrats on your top story!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Test5 months ago

    Admirable job! Keep up the exceptional work—congrats!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Just lovely.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Beautifully done, smooth and emotional Congratulations

  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Great love poem

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    How completely lovely ❤

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Beautiful piece.

Lindsay SfaraWritten by Lindsay Sfara

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.