Poets logo

Dark is My New Light

Meet me at the stroke of midnight under the light of the moon.

By Cassey DalePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I was a kid darkness was terrifying. I remember running up the stairs as fast as I could right after I shut the light off in the basement. Or taking a running leap to my bed after shutting the lights out at bedtime. Random noises in the night, like dented pop bottles filling with air during the middle of the night making a popping noise. Darkness was unwelcome.

As an adult, darkness is no longer terrifying... its comforting. You see, before I lost my soul mate to suicide my world was filled with light. Now... my world is dark. So the darkness has become my comfort. It is where I feel the most emotion. It's where I constantly search for my lost soul. The moon is my night light. In the night when its the most silent and dark is where my soul lives and breathes. Waiting. Hoping. Wishing. Dreaming. Listening for any sign from my lost lovers soul.

Meet me at the stroke of midnight under the light of the moon. We will pick up where we left off and dance to our old tune. Forgetting any reason, any responsibility, and washing away the frown lines. All of my fears are hidden in the shadows of the moonlight. Tucked away till the dawn of day. Rising with the sun. Ill see you again when the orange fades to black when the day is done.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cassey Dale

I have been traveling through the journey of grief for about 8 years now. Life is not what it used to be. My life is now foreign and I have to rebuild myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.