Poets logo

Daily Poem

#1: You

By Ramon FonsecaPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

You

Ice is cold.

And it burns

Just the thought of it sends shivers down my spine

Your face as I look at it-

frozen

Unknown whether out of stone, or in time itself

And as I play with and speak to you

I realize more and more that I am speaking to a statue

An unfeeling man that stands tall

Empty inside

But you are not empty

You are filled with a deep desire to control

And manipulate

And you are polar

Like a magnet, you attract those that love you

Those who fear you

And keep them from leaving your gravity

So large is your ego

You sustain moons that encircle you

And we stay a reasonable distance

And dance around you

Out of fear

We have learned over the years that the closer we get to you

The nearer we are

To destruction

And as every fiber of my being tells me to leave

You pull me back with a love so fake

That I mistake it to be real

Oh you are from hell

And you burn those that believe you are touchable

And just the thought of you sends chills down my spine.

About the Poem:

So, I wrote this poem when I was about 16. I got inspiration when one time my father got extremely angry with me and caused me emotional distress. I would often be held captive to his abuse and in order to keep myself together, I would write. Poetry really kept me alive throughout the years because it gave me a creative outlet to comprehend and release strong emotions I had growing up. Thanks to poetry I was able to develop normally despite exceptionally abnormal conditions, and through poetry, I hope to find success and prosperity. Sorry to start off my career here with a sad poem, but hey, that's kinda my style. More to come that may or may not end up sad. Thank you for reading.

excerptsvintage

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RFWritten by Ramon Fonseca

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.