Poets logo

Dad

My Dad

By Teresa TurnerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

My Dad was a great man, a good man, oh and fun

My Dad would bake with me a biscuit or a bun

My Dad could make people laugh with just one bad Dad joke

My Dad was popular with every kind of folk

My Dad was kind hearted, forgiving and polite

My Dad had high morals he tried to live his life right

My Dad would give his last penny, to feed the poor if needed

My Dad would give shelter to all that’s just what he did

My Dad had a broken body but he would rise with pride

My Dad hated the limelight in the background he would hide

My Dad showed compassion, he would even shed a tear

My Dad was a strong man he didn’t show his fear

My Dad could give a cuddle to melt away your fright

My Dad would pray aloud, his eyes were always shut real tight

My Dad shared lots of laughter rarely gloom

My Dad would crack a smile and light up every room

My Dad lives in heaven with the Angels he now sings

My Dad is free forever, rising high above with wings

By T. Turner

aged 48 and a bit

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.