Poets logo

Crown

a year ago

By Kay HusnickPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
44
Crown
Photo by Bobby Donald on Unsplash

That day is burned into my brain.

I get off work, open the door to our apartment, and you slur "hello."

Your face struggles to make a smile. You never quite get there, and your eyes do not make it to mine.

I drop everything. I rush to you, immediately on the floor next to where you sit, holding your face in my hands to keep your focus.

You can't tell me what you drank or how much. There is no cup. There are no empty cans or bottles.

I ask and ask and ask and

finally, you remember the Crown Royal that was almost full in the freezer when I left.

It hasn't been returned to its place, so I keep asking questions, keep trying to decide whether or not you could be safe, keep collecting the information I might need if I have to call for help

until I find the empty bottle somehow under the beanbag chair where you sit.

You sobered up, but you never really got sober.

You never told me how it got so bad.

You never told me a lot of things.

sad poetry
44

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    This makes my heart race in panic. I just want to help...

  • Rebekah Crawley2 months ago

    Oh wow I felt this in my heart. Loving someone with a drinking problem is the hardest thing in the world. So much said in such a short piece, well deserved Top Story!

  • I’m sorry you experienced this, and I applaud you for sharing ❤️‍🩹 It’s a well written and emotive poem

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    Great poem Kay! Also, congrats on your Top Story❤️

  • Navjot Kaur 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Shaun Walters2 months ago

    Amazing and amzingly sad

  • Jeremy White2 months ago

    Congrats on top story. Good representation of alcoholism.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Test2 months ago

    Wow. Incredible.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    This is beautiful work

  • Intriguing title! What does 'Crown' represent for you? Is it about literal crowns, or something more metaphorical?

  • Test2 months ago

    Awe-inspiring work! Keep up the remarkable effort—congrats!

  • Emma Miller2 months ago

    very well described https://www.accountantsacademy.in/

  • Bonnie Bowerman2 months ago

    Very powerful sad images!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    This is heartbreaking and so well written.

  • Kodah2 months ago

    "You sobered up, but you never really got sober." Sometimes it feels like it never ends... 💖 Love your poem! Congrats on top story!! 💖

  • A. Lenae2 months ago

    I personally know the anguish of living my own version of this, and that last line is just a truthful dagger. The urgency and desperation in this poetic memory shows every movement in this terrible dance, written so beautifully. There's no way this isn't a real moment of your life, and for that I'm so sorry and I hope writing about it brings healing.

  • Sandra Matos2 months ago

    This poem is well-written, raw, and haunting. Congrats on your well-deserved Top Story!

  • Man, the sorrow in that last line hurts. I've dealt with people like this in that state and it leaves its mark. Congrats on the Top Story. Beautifully and honestly written.

  • Margaret Brennan2 months ago

    congratulations on TS. This truly deserves it. I've seen my brother go down that path. It's so sad.

  • Matthew Fromm2 months ago

    damn great piece. sobering in all the possible definitions of the word.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    I feel the intense anxiety and struggle of emotions. Very impactful piece on addiction

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is so good, I really felt your fear, and then your sadness.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    The panic your narrator feels is palpable. Excellent choice to use first person. Makes the piece feel personal, immediate, and difficult. Congratulations on TS!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.