Poets logo

Creases

DHMIS, Red & Duck. Red’s Perspective

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Creases
Photo by Tom Swinnen on Unsplash

Off the story pages, I tried to leap out of the inky, dusty words

I tried to creep out of the black, tar-like smudge that was bludgeoning my existence

Into a dead pool of the snow-hell, black-hole sun devastation

I gripped onto the yellowed floor of the once pristine white flour paper

It was no surprise it felt slippery and uneven, a drooping, loopy mess

Am I a character of a once forgotten forged nightmare, or a true romance with a sudden halting, screeching, bloody

End?

My darling, my very lovely, cranky old bird,

Do I know your name,

Or does that even matter

As you can grip that unseen force of my own pneuma, at the very bottom of my deepest river inside, gripping it like the Jaws of Life

Holding, steadfast and fierce,

Scraping off the gunk and breathing in

The fire I so desperately

Desired, Needed

To escalate my feelings into motion.

No, our names are scattered to a long forgotten storm, old and beautiful and lost

And we can feel our identities intertwining in that shared rain,

It does not need a title or a link to the natural order of nomenclature

But our story has creases, my love.

And the creases fold over

Waves of ocean

Hurricanes

That sound like they can move the earth

And reform it into a new chapter

Off the story pages

I leapt

I faltered

I loved

I cried

I built

I sank

I tumbled, I fell

No one can escape their own story, my darling

So let us create a new one

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachael MacDonaldabout a year ago

    wow, what I thought I understood about the poem changed at the end. Very interesting indeed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.