Poets logo

Covers

Tempting to cease being idle..

By Grz ColmPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
13
Covers
Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

I wrap myself up in its covers -

Squeezing every last drop of warmth and security.

Tempting to cease being idle and throw back the covers?!

Oh the humanity!

How cold, how drab. No thanks!

Then clutching my book beside me again,

I turn the final page,

And grasp the corners of the book with both hands and sigh,

Reading each word carefully, examining it like a jewel and then,

When the time came, I gently close the covers of the book,

hold it, feel it, and warmly say farewell,

as if to an old friend,

Kindly remembering the good times,

Even the sad times you cherish,

as they brought you here to this very moment,

You will stay with me, and I have hopes for you yet!

As I compartmentalise the book into my upstairs corridors.

*Thanks for reading my short poem. If you happen to like any of my poems or stories on Vocal, please feel free to subscribe to encourage my writing in future, or give it a like. Many Thanks.

You can read another poem here:

performance poetry
13

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.4 months ago

    Oh, I’m a little meaner to my books when I finish them. I growl, and curse, and threaten them for making me so emotionally invested only to tear out my soul… and then I pick up a new series and do it all over again 😅… I think there’s a term for that… can’t be the definition of insanity, nope

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Grz, this was so beautiful! I feel like kit has more implications that just reading a beloved book from a classic author. I could see this being how a first time author feels after they finally get published too! Great work and such a heartfelt, relatable piece!

  • DEUXQANE4 months ago

    The last time I finished a book was "The Artist's Way" by Julia Cameron, and I gotta admit, from all the gems I'd taken from that book, I was so sad to've turned the last page in Week 12.

  • Oh how sad it can be to finish a good book… I agree with Cathy.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Finishing a good book really is like saying goodbye to an old friend, isn't it? This is very nicely done.

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    This piece gave me all the feels! Why am I out of bed right now!?! 😂 Such a cozy and relatable poem! Beautiful job! 💫💞

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Cozy and wonderful.

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Aww I love this. Great play on the word “covers” and that’s exactly how cozy a good book makes me feel. I get so comfortable with the characters that I’m sad to say goodbye to them when it’s over.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    The wonderful feeling of reading a good book. Pretty soon, devices might change the feeling touch of a book cover. Excellent poem 🙂

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!!💖💖😊

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    One of my favorite things to do in all seasons! Really enjoyed your poem, Grz!

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    A good book is like a cozy bed in winter. You don't wanna leave 😭. Beautifully done 🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.