Poets logo

Nothing Like a Nice Hot Coffee

(To start the day at 1pm)

By Grz ColmPublished 2 years ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
7
Nothing Like a Nice Hot Coffee
Photo by Ronaldo Arthur Vidal on Unsplash

Nothing Like a Nice, Hot Coffee (to start the day at 1pm)

Sleepwalking through life,

Waltzing around at 3am,

Up and down the hallways at home,

Then sleeping in the day!

Bloody Vampire fangs,

And raging hunger pangs at night!

Maybe I’m pregnant?

Is it bed-time yet?!

Can’t sleep, not enough action,

Cruising by the beach,

What time is it right now?

Is anyone awake?

Has there been an apocalypse -

whilst I was in bed?!

Sleepily snoozing,

So much time losing,

Now, to Microwave my mug of water,

The kettle is broken and

So is my internal alarm clock,

Put on my socks,

Have brekkie, and a hot black coffee,

And watch the sun go down.

-2021

* Thanks for reading my poem. If you liked it, please let me know by hitting the heart and/or providing feedback to help encourage further poems and stories of mine. Many thanks.

You can also check out my recent poem “Covers” here:

performance poetry
7

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton8 months ago

    Yep, been there 😂. I just embrace it, go with the flow and chill. There’s something so liberating about being the only one up, when everyone else is sleeping and the world is quiet 😊

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Outstanding and very on point descriptive!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    I don't drink coffee, but I am a night owl. So I can relate. Nice poem!

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    Nothing like a coffee to try and right a malfunctioning internal clock 😄☕️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.