Poets logo

Counter Eclipse

Can light reign again?

By Grz ColmPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
21
Counter Eclipse
Photo by Gabriel Barletta on Unsplash

Enveloping lightness warmly caresses,

Cloudy, dark thoughts no more, now

Leaping into action like a super-hero, one’s

Interest renewed in fascinating places and peoples, and

Pouring out laughter in every circumstance (even inappropriate ones)

Seemingly almost human again, forgettable alien no longer, sometimes

Easier in theory than in practise..

*Written for the Vocal ‘In Eclipse’ poetry challenge, 2024.

Quick note: I was thinking of mental health related medications like anti-depressants and how they are supposed to alter your brain chemistry. I guess it depends what one is using these for, but ultimately they don’t always work for everyone or they may only work for a certain amount of time. I remember the effects many years ago, much like I’ve described above, but then things dwindled over time. Next, trying many others with very mixed results. Anyhow, I thought it could be an interesting eclipse analogy - obscuring the unhealthy darkness by encompassing lightness of mind and body.

*Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and reviews. Many thanks.

Here are a couple of other pieces you might like:

Mental HealthAcrostic
21

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 days ago

    Nice work!!!

  • This is a great entry. Really well done

  • Very deep and relatable Grz. You did an excellent job with this.

  • Cathy holmes5 days ago

    Very creative take on the challenge. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson6 days ago

    Creatively expressed and an awesome entry!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Gina C.7 days ago

    You did such a stellar job coalescing these two concepts! I like the idea of mental health - light vs darkness - as a metaphor for Eclipse. You have some really powerful lines in here. I really loved" Leaping into action like a super-hero," Great work, Grz!

  • Hannah Moore8 days ago

    I think it's a great analogy.

  • Mika Oka9 days ago

    I like how you put these two together. Eclipse can be a great analogy for this

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    This is incredible! What a powerful piece! The “I” and “S” lines gave me goosebumps. Great acrostic, Grz!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 days ago

    Excellent entry, Grz! I love your. interpretation of the prompt. 💖

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 days ago

    I like the concept of this!! The idea of embracing the light instead of letting darkness swallow you up and the reminder that it's easier in theory than practice!! Beautifully done and so well thought out!! Great work Grz!

  • Good Eclipse acrostic ✅. ‘ Seemingly almost human again, forgettable alien no longer, sometimes Easier in theory than in practise..’ Reminds me of when someone kept telling me they were invisible to most people… it shouldn’t be so, but unfortunately sometimes it happens… too often people are carelessly overlooked… despite how wonderful they are.

  • Rachel Deeming10 days ago

    I think this is excellent, Grz.

  • Whoaaaa, that was deeper than I thought it was. You executed this so brilliantly and very perfectly articulated! I was so happy to see your name in my notifications! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Mother Combs10 days ago

    Great acrostic, loved it <3

  • Mariann Carroll10 days ago

    Mental health medicine does seem to give people dark thoughts. Just like illegal drugs I am assuming. Great poetry

  • ema10 days ago

    I like your poem very much. Dark thoughts are dangerous, but in difficult times it is hard to see the light. When you say: Pouring out laughter in every circumstance (even inappropriate ones), I think it's true, it is very important to force ourself to appreciate the small moments of joy, in recent months I have felt this way, the small positive things have slowly become enormous and have swept away a horrible period. 😊

  • Paul Stewart10 days ago

    Oh, love the concept and the execution. I've always found anti-depressants work for me, but I know it depends on person, type and dosage. This is a great entry, pal! Good to read something properly new from you! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.