Poets logo

Cosmic Mismatch

Life in the wrong version of the universe

By Cody SegravesPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Cosmic Mismatch
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

There once was a man full of strife,

Claiming he led a mismatched life.

In the wrong universe born,

Every mishap was scorn,

Blaming the cosmos for each daily strife.

He claimed, "In the wrong world, I reside,

Incompatible, my fate can't coincide.

Every step I take,

A cosmic mistake,

In a parallel realm, I'd be bona fide."

Misfortune his constant companion,

In this universe, his bane and champion.

Tripped over his own shoe,

Said, "It can't be true,

In the right cosmos, I'd be a stallion!"

His car always broke down on the street,

Blamed the stars and shuffled his feet.

"It's not just bad luck,

In this world, I'm stuck,

A vehicular curse, the universe's deceit."

In matters of love, he was astray,

Couldn't find the right words to say.

"It's not my fault, you see,

In this reality,

Romance eludes, the universe at play."

A job, a constant uphill climb,

Blamed the galaxies for the lack of prime.

"It's not my skill or wit,

In this universe, it's unfit,

In another realm, I'd be in my prime."

His friends, tired of the cosmic excuse,

Said, "Man, your reasoning is obtuse.

It's not the universe's blunder,

You're just prone to wander,

Stop blaming the stars; cut it loose!"

But he clung to his cosmic refrain,

Incompatible, his eternal bane.

"Every setback and stumble,

A universal fumble,

In the wrong version, I'm a cosmic stain."

So, with limericks, we jest and tease,

About a man with cosmic unease.

In the wrong universe, he's trapped,

Satirical tales, his fate perhaps,

A comedic saga of universal displease.

humor

About the Creator

Cody Segraves

Originally from West Virginia, I've now planted roots in Fairfax, VA, with my wife and 2 dogs. My passions? Videogames, trails, fishing, painting miniatures, and gardening. I write about all these, with a sprinkle of sci-fi for good measure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Test7 months ago

    Very powerful beautiful poem!

  • Salman siddique7 months ago

    Creative!!!!!!!!!!!

Cody SegravesWritten by Cody Segraves

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.