Poets logo

Connected

Poetry: BreaKup

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Connected

Why must I be still connected with you,

Even though we’re through.

It's the same connection I once held so close,

But it’s now preventing me from my own growth.

My head is on straight,

And my heart is releasing the ache

But my body is refusing to take the same break.

This is beyond the yearn for you at night,

Or the love and comfort I once held so tight.

This is different,

It all feels more imminent.

For me,

theres a fine line between pain and pleasure,

And with me attempting to pleasure without you, all I feel is the pain.

No matter the substitute, nothing seems to measure,

All I’m trying to do is sustain.

I feel the pain of it not being enough,

And the pain of losing your love.

The dissociation of our hearts.

Which ultimately caused us to lose that part.

the connection that once united us together

Is ultimately preventing me from any of my own pleasure.

However, I can't seem to separate our intimacy,

So Please,

Just make it leave,

I have needs, that were awoken by you,

Now even though you're gone,

they can't be silenced to tell the truth.

I thirst for that feeling,

Knowing very well, it will never come from you.

And for now I am dealing,

While I try to pursue the new.

But every time I try,

The only way for it to subside,

Is to think of you being close to me by my side.

Then when I am close to coming

The emotions of us come in flooding.

Something meant to relieve,

Is now making me grieve.

I wish to feel that close with you again,

But I dream of the day I can finish,

Without you being the reason.

I valued our time together,

But I want to be free,

From that connection we had

between you and me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.