Poets logo

Conflicting Thoughts

Love me, love me not...

By LeAnn MurchPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Not letting anyone in

I'm protecting my heart

Got these feelings locked down

Can't keep them from surfacing

Don't wanna let anyone see what's beneath

I've built up these walls

From all this pain that's been caused

Don't want to get in too deep

My shell is a rock

It protects me at all costs

Gotta be careful

Can't let anybody in

All that lies within me

Feels like a storm lives inside

My head is a mess

I feel like I'm crumbling

My heart is suffocating

I can't keep holding it in

I want to show who I am

But at what cost?

I can't lose myself again

I don't want to let anyone in

But my heart is getting too big

It's breaking the barrier

My anger is no longer strong enough

I feel like I'm letting you in

But what if you break me like the rest of them?

I'm made out of pieces

pieces of broken hearts I've taken

Never been given anything whole

Just pieces

I've taped them together

to make me whole again

I keep myself protected so I don't crumble

crumble back into a million pieces

If I let you in I risk shattering

My heart maybe full but its fragile

The slightest upset could destroy it

Is it worth it?

Are you worth it...

love poems
1

About the Creator

LeAnn Murch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.