Poets logo

Conflicting Love

What if you're not sure if it's love?

By Neil BlakePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I realize the hypocrisy of my actions

I utter phrases of affection and sunlight to your face

Then in confronting my fears let the shade of my character overcome me

It travels up my body like a cancerous invader

Stopping at every moment it can to feed off my past mistakes

The times I've hurt those I love the most

The times I lashed out in spite

The skin it touches becomes frosted from the cold

The mind I'm trapped in becomes oddly unfamiliar

There's no escaping this cold feeling

It sends shivers through my body colder than the breeze that passes through my hollow rib cage

Emptied of all life, only weighed down by my guilty conscience

Somehow the warmth of your words found their way into my body

Overcoming me like that first sip of coffee in the morning

Every word a drug

Every touch is fuel to rid myself of this undying sense of inadequacy

Its become difficult to tell the difference between dreams and reality

Between story and allegory

Between infatuation and the allure of your giving heart

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Neil Blake

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.