Poets logo

Confessions From A Grown Child

Yes, I Did That.

By Carol TownendPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
5
Confessions From A Grown Child
Photo by Robert Collins on Unsplash

Fights at school,

Fights at home,

Yes; I did that.

Listen to loud music,

Get in with the wrong crowd,

Fall in love with the wrong people,

Yes; I did that.

Never listen,

Say stupid things,

Be 'too soft,'

Yes; I did that.

Wild nights dancing,

Forget my homework,

Cry when I was angry,

Overreact,

Become mouthy

Yes, I did those things too

And you?

What did you do?

Sent me to my room,

After you hit me,

Told me I was stupid,

Made me feel thick,

Made me fight when I was bullied,

Though you always knew that I was not fond of fighting,

Told me to 'toughen up'

When I cried because I was hurting;

You called me names,

Punished me for having feelings.

But,

You forgot;

I was a child growing up,

Was I worth your love or praise?

Because I never felt it.

Mental Healthslam poetrysad poetryheartbreakFamilyCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist19 days ago

    I am so sorry!❤️ I luckily quit drinking when my children were babies so they didn't get much of that from me. We can't help but learn some things from our parents. My children's grandparents were much better with their grandchildren than they were with their children.❤️ I thought of that as making up for their time raising my husband and I.

  • Margaret Brennan19 days ago

    wow ..... I held on to my marriage thinking my sons needed a "man's influence" around the house. Then I thought: "what am I nuts?" when he decided to leave, I never asked him to stay because what you described i your poem was exactly the way he treated my sons. They were 8 and 10 when he left and it took me a few years to undo the harm he'd done. They are now in their 50s and wonderful husbands and fathers and happier than I ever thought they'd be. again, wow, your poem really hits home. Thank you for reminding me that I did the right thing by raising my sons alone.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.