Poets logo

Memories From Parenting

Remembering The Happy Times, And The Sadness That Follows When Children Grow Up.

By Carol TownendPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
2
Memories From Parenting
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

"Good night, mum-bum,"

I smile as the bitter sweet memory of a toddler enters my brain,

"Good night, I love you little one,"

As I hear these words, tears fall like rain,

And smiles shine like the sun.

"Mum! Tell Daniel to go away!"

I hear these words in my memory as I climb up the stairs,

I open my daughters empty bedroom, but she's no longer there,

I smile a happy smile, and I shed a tear of dispair.

I head downstairs to the lounge,

I look through my then four year old's art work;

"I'm proud of you,"

I hear myself tell him,

As I see the sunset sky he painted, dated from today.

I hear a door slam,

As my eldest son returns home;

"I hate school!"

He cries, as he throws his coat like it is the worst slum!

Night time falls;

"Time for bed now,"

I say aloud;

A chorus of groans erupts from their little mouths.

All these memories remind me that children are precious,

They fill us with happiness, followed by sadness when

they grow up and leave us.

Childhood ends,

Adulthood begins,

But, still;

Our children remain our greatest treasures.

As I close my bedroom door,

I remember;

When a door closes, another one opens,

And,

Some doors stay closed forever,

But in our hearts,

Memories of our children remain;

And, as we sleep with tears in our eyes,

We remember that,

Our children's light always lights up the skies.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseFamily
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.