Poets logo

Complaints About a Squatter

For sleepy drafts Sleepy Mission: Eavesdropping challenge

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Photo created with starry

"I was waiting to get my bloodwork done and happened to overhear this conversation. I took some liberties with it for poetic flair, but the gist remains intact."

Complaints About a Squatter

She shouldn't even be there

She doesn't care

She's only there for the money

Don't laugh this isn't funny

+++++

She doesn't help with anything

All she wants is the furniture and the rings

She thinks that she's entitled

But she's just living in denial

+++++

She won't help with the bills

She's always on the town looking for cheap thrills

She spends money like it's a joke

I wouldn't be surprised if she's broke

+++++

I know she’s his daughter

But let’s face it she’s a squatter

+++++

They just called my name

I gotta go

Love you sweetheart

Tell the kids I say hello

+++++

This poem is for sleepy drafts Sleepy Mission...

With Love, RHC ❤️

social commentaryhumorFor Fun
12

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit.18 days ago

    Great job congratulations

  • Dasani Jones2 months ago

    Haha! I live for this shit! Amazing writing! Nice ears too!😂😘❤️‍🔥

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Nicely written. Made me feel a bit sad but also woww made me guffaw at the way people think!

  • Great rhyme for this challenge… so sad to hear though.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Very well done. I forgot about this one!

  • Oooo, this was juicy! Hahahahahaha. Loved this gossip turned poem!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I like that this is from a one sided conversation you overheard. I was chuckling and shaking my head at the same time Well done

  • So much from just one side of a conversation. Step-mother-step-daughter relationships can be tricky--but so entertaining with all the drama!

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ooooooof, well done, Rick. You took this overheard moment and elevated it to poetry, wonderfully. 💗 The things we overhear some days! Thank you so, so much for writing and sharing this piece with the mini-challenge, Rick!! 💕💓

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    well done!!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Sorry you had to hear this....my own life has enough drama...I want to wear earplugs when out

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.