Poets logo

Comes in Threes

Expansion in the act of letting go

By Jessica VannPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Comes in Threes
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I'll never get

to dance with you again

in a town square on an island in Mexico

to the Plain White Tees.

And all I can do

is wonder what it's like for you

in the city,

a thousand miles away

and broken hearted

at the loss of you.

__________________

Locked in a moment

where only the stars were there

to blush and gaze

at our love.

The second hand finds its mark

keeping time with shallow breaths

and breaking hearts.

I've learned to substitute

sadness for wrath,

so much that I don't need the drugs

to chew my teeth

into dust.

Collect and compress it

to form the stars

that crossed our love.

Misread all the signs,

thinking you'd be here till death

but you were the death of me.

__________________

I can feel you slipping away.

My heart still claws after you in the darkest recesses of my chest.

Desperate hands stretching through the cage of my ribs.

Begging for your soul to come back and lay,

your head in its place at the crook of my neck.

But there's still pieces of you here,

left to rot up against my spine.

And as the love I felt turns sour,

it becomes the acid that fills my mouth

when I think of you.

sad poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Jessica Vann

28 year-old full of whimsy and daydreams living in the bustling city of Toronto, Ontario. A lover of despondent, heartbroken things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Your poems are beautiful and heartbreaking.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.