Poets logo

Nicotine Ghost

6 weeks and counting.

By Jessica VannPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
47
Nicotine Ghost
Photo by Katarzyna Urbanek on Unsplash

My life hasn't passed the Bechdel test since you left.

So hung up on the empty space you scraped

out of my chest.

I'm trying to learn to live without spite,

in spite of everything I feel without you.

Lit a cigarette just so it smells like you again.

Hoping to conjure you

with nicotine incense.

If you're haunting me,

it's only fair that I haunt you, too.

You said it didn't feel the same anymore.

Guess you confused dopamine for love

that you fell out of

when I fell out of plain view.

If your decision wasn't made lightly,

I hope the weight is crushing you.

sad poetry
47

About the Creator

Jessica Vann

28 year-old full of whimsy and daydreams living in the bustling city of Toronto, Ontario. A lover of despondent, heartbroken things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    Excellent work! 💖

  • That’s deep and paints a vivid image.

  • Paige Garth8 months ago

    So good!

  • A. Lenae8 months ago

    This is the seedy underbelly of heartbreak, with the aroma of lingering cigarette smoke, and it's electric. Really damn good writing.

  • Oh wow I loved this those last lines so heavy with feeling and meaning

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Very relatable! Well written!

  • Estrellita López8 months ago

    CONGRATS ON TOP STORY! ❤️

  • WOW. This was sooooo powerful!!!!!! Hugely deserved top story!!!! I’m excited to check out your other work… the depth of this! I’m an ex smoker - 3 years free of it next month, and so so grateful I did the work. “Trying to learn to live without spite… feel without you” These lines capture exactly what it is to stop choking our emotions, memories and anger down….because we would rather implode than explode. If this is autobiographical and present tense? The only way out is through vulnerability and crying that river of stores tears… it eventually ends, and the sun is waiting there 🙏✨❤️

  • Tressa Rose8 months ago

    I felt this one. A lot of my poetry I write is similar as far as it is more sad, but you did a great job!

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    oof, right in the feels. great job! and congrats on top story!

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Great poem, pulled on the heart strings

  • James Haider8 months ago

    Fantastically written!!!

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    It was intense 👀 congratulations on top story and many more to come❤️

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fantastically written!!! Some awesome lines too!!! CONGRATULATIONS to you!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Bri Craig8 months ago

    "Hoping to conjure you/ with nicotine incense." -loved loved loved this line!

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    I like how nicotine seems to be both metaphorical and literal in this poem. “Lit a cigarette just so it smells like you again. Hoping to conjure you with nicotine incense.” Isn’t it funny how we torture ourselves with certain memories, not wanting to let go? And those last two lines are a perfect ending. Congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Phenomenal!

  • Trip L.8 months ago

    A story I can resonate with. I enjoyed this a lot

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Omg!! Excellent rhymes and metaphors!! I love this

  • Andrei Z.8 months ago

    It flows and makes ripples! And I cannot tell is it more of a curse or an attempt at reconciliation.

  • https://vocal.media/humor/the-unforgettable-pie-jiv0pfg

  • Adam 8 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Oh so good, Jessica! Love this!

  • Morgana Miller8 months ago

    So deeply relatable. Love this last line, "If your decision wasn't made lightly, I hope the weight is crushing you."

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Bechdel test SENT me, what a vibe! I'm in love with this so much. CAN I PLEASE READ THIS ON THE podcast??? Congrats on Top Story??

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.