Poets logo

Colour blindness is bliss

To Terezka

By Ibrahim CisséPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
"Creation before matter." 2020, photograph, courtesy of Ibrahim Cissé

1.

Stranger: *Dutch sentence*

Me: Hello sir, sorry I don’t speak Dutch! What did you say?

Stranger: Do you prefer a Greek woman to a Turkish one?

Me: Mmh.. I don't know, I would have to meet them first I guess…

Stranger: (confused) that’s a really good answer (leaving) enjoy your cucumbers!

Me: Thank you, have a great day! (holding my transparent plastic bag full of flamboyant bananas)

2.

Eating the familiar

practicing what I’ve been taught

loving those who remind me of home

searching for home in foreign lands

preaching my will against all odds

may seem enough — yet enough

never brought me any closer to you

stranger

I bath in the given, paint sameness

speak with the native tongue

write to confirm beyond prosperity, birth alike

favour

not to chose otherwise, for I fear

the silhouette of the ageing stranger

standing in the mirror

3.

“Every time I close my eyes, I see everything, numbers and colours are falling in line”

Frederick S. Burton

Every time I close my eyes

I see everything

I see-sense world-potentials

undivided lands

sand-clay-rock, beaches-mountains-cliffs

red warm earth, home, not a spill of blood

not

a single castle built up

to hoard, feud, landlord

I see-feel the shape of sacred dreams

in my stillness

fenced trees — unconceivable

no sailors fishing colonies

no offence done

setting off salt-tears

down myriads of dispossessed cheeks

no foreign, no fear

Every time

I close my eyes

all is one, little suns form in the place of my pupils

spectres of yellow

dot

hues of stillness, I’m plunged in the black hole

creation before matter

without and outside are no longer

removal nor lack

I weep but the world won’t see, eyes closed I water within

ink-falls are filling my

tank-tale to create anew

I hear

I am presence and surrounding

one with the environment

when sound becomes the listener

all is one, accounted for

difference becomes world-potentials

— mindful, I am

creation before matter

cucumbers may as well be green bananas

and love

a foreign language

spoken from the mouth of a stranger

or

the face of a stranger

sun-sinked

palette

skin-tone

Every time

I close

my eyes

numbers

and colours

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ICWritten by Ibrahim Cissé

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.