Poets logo

Coffee with Taylor Swift

Poetry Month Prompt #3 (musician in the title)

By Kiersten WeldonPublished 11 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Farknot Architect | Image created in Canva Pro

Like sitting across from a tarot card reader

You somehow find my darkest, weakest moments

And tear them from my chest with no warning,

Laying them on the table for both of us to see.

.

I know I asked for this.

I know I called you here, but

How dare you expose me

And then ask me how I like my coffee.

.

As if you see my panic,

As if you see my pain,

You offer some secrets of your own

To show me that this isn't a sacrifice to a god.

It's a blood pact between two best friends.

.

Scars and stories-- mine, yours, ours.

The Star, the Moon, the crumbling Tower.

The building and breaking

... ... and subsequent reinvention

Of our cosmic souls.

__________________________________

This poem was written for the Writer's Digest April 2024 PAD Challenge for Day 3. (All prompts can be found here.)

Free Versecelebrities
3

About the Creator

Kiersten Weldon

My brain is where most of my stories go to die. Whatever survives will end up here. Eventually.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 days ago

    This was absolutely beautiful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.