Poets logo

Coffee

A deep dark need, satisfied

By L.C. SchäferPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
24
Coffee
Photo by Ceyda Çiftci on Unsplash

Darkness outside my window

Creeping up on me

So thirsty I can't think straight

My thoughts are all at sea

+

I try to discipline my mind

But my body starts to shake

I can't hold on much longer

My control's about to break

+

While everyone is sleeping

Slink to my kitchen shrine

The corner with the kettle

And the scent I find divine

+

Frantic clatter in the cupboard

To find a mug and spoon

It's going to have to be instant

I need a hit, and soon

+

Heating up the water

To try to cool my blood

Brave the steam and shun the sugar

Intense sensory flood

+

I can barely get it in the mug

The need is nigh on pain

Aroma whooshes up my nose

To punch me in the brain

+

Wrap my hands around the heat

Then my lips, just like a lover

Suck it down right to the dregs

When it's gone, I brew another

+

This one I can savour

Little rituals, take the time

Percolated to perfection,

Silky smooth and dark, sublime

+

So strong, almost thick and sticky

Coats my belly and my mind

The devil dancing on my tongue

Now I'm ready for the grind

+

Safe to be 'round humans now

My urgent need's abated

I can pretend I'm normal

For now my need is sated

+

You might think I'm lucky

To have such a wholesome thirst

Surely craving human blood

Would be many times worse?

+

You may be right, I ponder

Angry fangs begins to shrink

After all it's just a cup of Joe

A harmless wholesome drink

+

But your stake and silver won't save you

Nor will your crucifix

Just don't come too close to me

Until I've had my caffeine fix

+

Image credit: Godwin Angeline on Unsplash

Thank you for reading. Please remember to comment so I can reciprocate!

The story behind the story: My usual choice is tea, but I read an old story from Dharsheena and it made me want to write about coffee 😁 This one is probably my last submission for Sensational. Just having some fun and playing about with words while my next story percolates.

[Edit: I wrote this about an actual vampire. I believe the reader completes the story, so if you interpreted it differently, then that's true for you. I mention this because I've got coffee drinkers telling me how accurate it is 😁 Guys, take a look at yourselves. Oh wait, you can't 😜]

If you enjoyed this, the highest compliment you can pay me, second to actually, you know, paying me... is to click through and read something else!

Another poem that rhymes, as is proper!

Another entry for the Sensational challenge

Short fiction

Microfiction

Dystopian fiction

Dark fiction

Serialised fiction

Nonfiction

inspirational
24

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Sara 11 months ago

    Fellow addict and I love every word :)

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    I feel this on a spiritual level

  • Ruth Stewart11 months ago

    Totally relatable! 💙💙💙💙

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Love it! 🤣 I can definitely relate!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Lol! Trying to find a way to deny it but…. 🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️ ☕️

  • Gives me a new thoughts for, she should wear label. This is fabulous. Great job.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh man, I felt every word of this! Coffee is life. 🤗 I enjoyed how you recognize it's a ritual. Awesome work!

  • Omgggg, I loved this so much! Unfortunately, I'm still not safe around people even after my coffee, lol! Thank you so much for the shoutout! I'm so happy my story inspired you to write this! 💖

  • F. Leonora Solomon11 months ago

    i feel like when i hold that mug, even just the warmth in my hands is enough to rouse me. loved the end especially!!!🧛‍♂️ i love Dharrsheena too!❤️

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Ha! This is awesome. 😎 We can’t say we haven’t been warned. So glad you’re not a vampire, well, that I know of. 😂

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well, this is a real gem from a non-coffee drinker! Resorting to instant is a really desperate move! A great entry for the challenge!

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    This was so vivid! I felt every emotion, sensation, and thought as though they were my own as I read through it! Surely a winner!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Well said. Haha, just this morning I had an intrusive thought to dedicate my next poem to coffee

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Haha! Very clever and definitely nonfiction!

  • Suze Kay11 months ago

    I skipped my cup this morning and regret it now! Love the use of the word "percolates" at the end haha

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Haha, this is some coffee-induced madness. A madness that is so perfect, might I add. I got all the sense of urgency to get that first coffee drunk and onto the next one. You managed to weave a stunning piece of poetry all about the dark brewing stuff. And the little nod to vampires at the end was the crema on top! Bravo, I say. Bravo!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.