Poets logo

Closer the Night

Deeper each touch

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Closer the Night
Photo by Michael & Diane Weidner on Unsplash

Sizzling heartbeat, the step,

walking inside twilight forgiveness

I fear not a velvet grace

that keeps on getting deeper

no yearning can fly now

no voice can be heard

I am still,

as underwater dreams grow wings,

they can't speak yet,

their songs ring louder with each puddle

each fall, a resurrection

each mirror thousandfold

passionate love.

***

A marsh of feelings,

young and old,

meets fingertips,

the touch

sends lightning through my veins

I sense, I know

and yet

I'm only one still standing,

a ghost, a bird,

a moonbeam.

***

My friends used to hold hands,

tell me

the way to reach the moon

was to pour spirit in each cup

offer the wind a sip,

a dream of grass blades

in the dusk,

swaying with tune

unheard,

known all along.

***

Gate opens, and my steps

ring once again

on pavement with echo of love,

doorbell my song,

answer the call,

visited by a spring

that never ceased to bloom.

***

I can grow sunflowers on mountains

with you

I can be anything

and thwart

flight of heart longing to surrender

dream of spell cast

at midnight rose,

dark greeting.

I can turn time away

from you and me.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.