Poets logo

Close your eyes

A poem

By Brandi LansdownePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

She said close your eyes

And everything will become clear

I looked for you for so long

I don’t know who I am anymore

Just close your eyes and the answers will be yours

Looking for a way out I became my worst enemy

Feeling the motions of the waves I couldn’t stop

Waiting for something to arrive

But it never came

I close my eyes and waited for him to come

It has been a long sixteen years

Still living on borrowed time

Seeking something more

Close my eyes and it be over soon she said

Maybe that’s what I needed to move on

I must carry a broken heart and a damaged spirit

Having to go through a hell I never was built for

Your love brought me to my knees

My love for you destroyed what I had left

My foundations been brought to ruin

I crumbled under the pressure

I close my eyes so I can’t see what you’re doing to me

What you did made me open my eyes

Now I see the truth

Bright and clear

You’re toxic beyond belief

It’s hard to take in

Where the life in me can’t take it anymore

I would’ve done anything for you

I’m screaming inside for a relief

From the pain you caused

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Brandi Lansdowne

Podcast: blonde with a black streak

zazzle: hallowed Halloween

etsy: hallowed Halloween

twitch: thorin11233

instagram: gothie12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.