Poets logo

Claire Voyance

Five plus one equals

By AphoticPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2023
75
Claire Voyance
Photo by Sara Rolin on Unsplash

I heard you come in some time after midnight

At first I thought, the wind

But I keep all of my windows closed

So nothing can get in

I felt you climb into my bed

And crawl across my skin

The air became a tangible

No longer something “thin”

I inhaled the sweet familiar scent

Of peony perfume

A bullet to my brain

Enveloping the room

Strawberries and honey

The sweetness on my tongue

Your kiss always reminding me of

Sugar and the sun

I didn’t have the courage

To open up my eyes

And let them fall upon you

Afraid of what they’d find

That was when you whispered

In a voice I know by heart

That no matter where you are

We will never be apart

And your breath caressed me softly

Leaving goosebumps in its wake

Like a feather touching lightly

And my earth began to quake

I took in another bale

Of your beautiful aroma

Never wanting to forget

Your sex, your soul, your soma

Then the strawberries and honey

In my mouth turned into mold

When I reached out to touch you

And found nothing there to hold

I jerked my eyes wide open

Remembering, morose

As the moonlight melted over us

Me, staring at your ghost

I used to tell you all the time

I didn’t believe in spirits

You promised I would change my mind

And I didn’t want to hear it

Feeling you beside me

Though I cannot hold your hand

I’m glad that I was wrong

So I could feel you once again

And smell the heady peonies

That lingered, heavenly

Clinging to your essence

Like our names carved on a tree

And taste the wild berries

As I fondly reminisced

Cause your presence brought it back to life

Like a brand new kiss

And see your face so I don’t have to

Rely on photographs

Cause pictures never did you justice

That always made us laugh

Right then you made a promise

That you’d haunt me every night

Until the day we meet again

In another life

That was when you faded

And the air became less dense

And in the aftermath of you

I welcomed my sixth sense

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
75

About the Creator

Aphotic

Horror|Sci-Fi|Fantasy|Poetry

Instagram🌅

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (36)

Sign in to comment
  • Karissa E.L. Cuff9 months ago

    wow, unbelievably amazing poem. I enjoyed every line!

  • Ian Read11 months ago

    A beautifully haunting poem. Stunning work!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Phenomenal!

  • This was fantastic, unique, and so creatively written. There were so many lines I could get lost in. Loved the imagery you used. Hearted and subscribed. Look forward to reading more.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Wow, what a vividly emotional ride that was, and your last line was PERFECTION! Absolutely fantastic flow and beautiful, evocative lines. Bravo!

  • Komal11 months ago

    I loved it. It is so good!

  • Zack Graham12 months ago

    Absolutely stunning piece of writing - reminded me of Poe with its looping vocabulary and soaring rhythm. Really enjoyed this one and the way you addressed each of the five senses throughout the piece.

  • Kathleen Roberts12 months ago

    I love this poem

  • Ah, such a beautiful poem for the challenge. Loved the inclusion of sixth sense. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Kim Loostrom12 months ago

    Gorgeously morbid, the imagery is completely immersive! What a stunning poem!

  • I dream dead people. As haunting as the movie

  • F. Leonora Solomon12 months ago

    Aphotic, i used to love to read and write poetry--you may just have ressurrected me...this is stunning❤️

  • Veronica 12 months ago

    I need a poetry book, please! your art is SUBLIME!

  • Cezanne Libellen12 months ago

    Oh, that is so sad and touching!!❤❤❤

  • Kari Rappold12 months ago

    Wow. That was emotional.

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    Last line is a piece of savagery 👌

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This was SO GOOD!! 😍😍😍 Absolutely in love. Wow, just wow! 😍 I was captivated from the very first line, "I heard you come in some time after midnight"... I knew this was going to be amazing!! Congrats on a well-deserved Top Story!! 🤗❤️

  • Sarah Wilcox12 months ago

    Intriguing for sure! Excited to read some more of your work, if you have time maybe check some of mine out, I could use some honest opinions about my writing from some real people 🫶🏻

  • ARC12 months ago

    this. was. doooooooooooooope. amazing structure, amazing story. wowwowwow. 👏👏👏

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    Well crafted. The flow drifts along... almost ethereally. The use of the word "soma".. inspired! Congratulations!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖✨

  • Joelle E🌙12 months ago

    I love the intimacy of this. Just incredible. Well done 👏🏼

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh wow, this was stunning! Your imagery–top notch, my friend :) So haunting and bittersweet. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    This is gorgeous. Congrats on the TS

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    So sensual, so real. Absolutely genius use of the prompt. Slam dunk fantastic, I love it so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.