Poets logo

Child of Divorce

*

By Christy MunsonPublished 18 days ago Updated 18 days ago 1 min read
7
Child of Divorce
Photo by Bekah Russom on Unsplash

When did I stop

Listening to you

Knowing your voice

Praising your god

Hearing your heart ache

Watching your hands play piano

Making hard candy on your kitchen counter

Sleeping with your windows open

Running carefree in your backyard

Swinging on your swing set

Playing with your dog

Climbing your trees

Recognizing your face

Calling your house home

Calling you

Calling you Mom

_______

When did I stop thinking in absolutes

Accepting someone else’s account

Believing that being kept from you was normal

and that I didn't have a choice

_______

When did their answers stop adding up

When did the walls shatter into manageable pieces

When did I find the courage to make your phone ring

_______

When will I know where I come from

and how will I rebuild your place in my life

after all these years

***

Copyright © 11/08/2014 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

***

Spoken word by Christy Munson

____________________________

Author's Note: This poem was written as a free style piece and later recorded as spoken word. The music was created using an online music app and samples. The embedded link connects you with my one and only spoken word album: exposure. My husband and I might make the time to properly edit it one day, but in the meantime, we hope you enjoy it.

heartbreakFamily
7

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    ❣️❣️❣️❣️❣️ Stunning, beautifully done in music and on the page.

  • M.B Hesperia 18 days ago

    Awesome words and expressions.

  • Hannah Moore18 days ago

    I can't listen at the moment, but the written version is fantastic.

  • Gosh both your music and poem is so stunning!

  • John Cox18 days ago

    I’m at the mall now so I’ll have to listen to your album later. This poem is as honest and raw as I would expect coming from your pen. Simply dazzling, Christy. I assume you created the album illustration as well. It looks like it was done in relief. Did you use tissue paper to build up the surface? It is quite beauriful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.