Poets logo

Tribe

don't know if I'll make it back home

By Christy MunsonPublished 17 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
6
Tribe
Photo by Matt Duncan on Unsplash

Papa Daddy drove his big green station wagon

with wood paneling on the sides

made me sit

in the backseat

in the middle

on the hump

every time we took a road trip

to the shore

or the mountains

or HoJo’s

__

we was heading South, man, South

__

I was

narrow and squirrelly

impatient

looking out windows

inquisitive

flipping kettle corn

into my watering mouth

or nibbling licorice and counting cars

__

I was five when we first hit the road

Pappy Daddy, Paw Paw, and me

__

Took me two years to understand

we weren’t

homeward bound

just taking the long way

__

Took another ten years to realize

there’d be no going back

***

Copyright © 01/09/2005 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

***

Spoken word by Christy Munson

_______________________

Author's Note: This poem was written as a free style piece and later recorded as spoken word. The music was created using an online music app and samples. The embedded link connects you with my one and only spoken word album: exposure. My husband and I might make the time to properly edit it one day, but in the meantime, we hope you enjoy it.

heartbreakFamily
6

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    Great performance piece! Well done, Christy!

  • Oooo, I really loved the music! Absolutely splendid!

  • John Cox17 days ago

    Wonderful, reminiscent poetry. Reminds me of our trips south as a boy from MN to MS every summer to my grandparents little brick house.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.