Poets logo

Cheap as chips

What better way for a boy to spend a sixpence?

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished about a month ago 1 min read
21
Image: Detail from photo by Tayssir Kadamany via Pexels

The bestest thing to pass my lips

At any time’s a bag of chips.

At sixpence there’s no better treat,

With salt and vinegar you can’t beat

The tangy warmness that pervades

The winter kid who promenades.

No fries from France could make me dance,

No ketchup dip for my thick chip.

Northerners swear by their brown gravy,

To smother tater chips they may be

Happy consuming their own way.

Salt and vinegar’s best, I say.

No better way to spend a shilling.

A bag for you and if you’re willing

One for me I could relate.

A bag of chips is truly great.

O ~ 0 ~ o

For Fun
21

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Forspiyaabout a month ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    A fun piece Raymond! 😁👍

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    I love salt and vinegar chips

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Love this, I love Chips. This made me hungry for them!!! 😊

  • Rebekah Crawleyabout a month ago

    I felt like I could taste them reading this! Haha now I’m hungry… 👀

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Mmm! salt-n-vinegar! I didn't like them much as a kid but as an adult, bring 'em on! Loved your fun and enticing poem, Ray!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    Ah wonderful... I'm not much for salt and vinegar - but I do enjoy it. I'm gonna have to try me some! Great work as always!!!

  • Any way you slice 'em. Hot & salty. It's also the thing about which our son was teasing his boyfriend (a gourmet chef) just minutes before he died. He couldn't wait to order French fries from McDonald's.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Potatoes know how to get around! Fun poem! Well-wrought!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    haha, this is my favourite! It must be vinegar! Really loved this Randy!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Omggggg salt and vinegar is my favouriteeee!!! Gosh your poem is making my mouth water so much hahahahaha! I loved it!

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Looks and sounds delicious...but I'll takes ketchup, please.

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Salt and vinegar is the best on any kind of chip or pardon me or French fries. I want some now.

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Damn't Ray! THis made me hungry and I already had supper. This poem is a very tasty treat!

  • Daphsamabout a month ago

    Very well done, now I have to go get a bag of chips too. Thank you for that!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.