Poets logo

Semblance

Encounter brief

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
Jan van Eyck,The Arnolfini Portrait, 1434, detail, National Gallery, London

How now I

Approach with trepidation

Peering into the glass with wonder

Momentarily

A solitary soul

beheld

Moving forward into the light

A stranger come from far away

surreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    The first thing I thought of while reading this was Alice in "Through the Looking Glass". But I also just finished the two installments where the children are transported into different times & possibly places, reminding me of C. S. Lewis. A part of me has a sense of foreboding, another of curiosity. Yep, I'm all over the place with this. Which after reading some of the conversations below, appears to have been your intent, lol.

  • Oh I was wondering if this was for the Inverse challenge and then read the comments. You nailed this so brilliantly!

  • Mark Graham3 months ago

    What appears in a mirror is just a reflection of what is real.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    First of all, l love the emotion generated by this poem. But I’m going to go out on a limb in regard’s to Jan van Eck’s Arnolfini Portrait detail that you selected for the poem’s illustration. I’m assuming that the image that inspired the poem is not the portrait but the mysterious figure in the mirror next to the couple who commissioned the portrait. I seem to recall reading that van Eck cleverly included himself reflected in the mirror. For me this deepens the image of the solitary soul and stranger in your poem. Feel free to let me know I’m off by a country mile. Well done!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Ooo, I loved this paired with the painting. How creative that it tells a story both forward and reverse for the same work of art. Loved it!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Came to to basically say what Paul said! I hope it's an Inverse entry, and if so, GOOD LUCK 😁

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    This is spellbinding. Such wonderful word play and love that painting. Are you entering it into the Inverse Challenge? It works well both ways!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.