Poets logo

cement and honey

their hands

By River JoyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
"Honey" charcoal, pastel on paper River 2023

my heart fills up backwards

with cement and horseflies

no blood

no more

and i'm being eaten alive

once upon a morning i thought

i'd pray to god

your god, my god, his god, their god

i shout amen, so be it,

until my voice was all gone

but the night came

as it always does

i turned to stone once more

freezing, the holes in my soul

but then the holes fill with honey

smoother and sweeter than me

my heart fills up backwards

cement and honey

i think i will pray

to be eaten alive

but your hands

my hands

their hands

my heart lives floating

so lighthearted above the city

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

River Joy

I make things with paint and words and light. I was once described as an asshole with Mr. Rogers vibes.

Facebook

[email protected]

Tic Tok Poetry Readings

Buy Me a Coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    Even the hardest of hearts might become softened & become sustenance for others.

  • Cyrus4 months ago

    Interesting read🤔

  • Unusually unique. I like it.

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    I think I once visited this chapel. A moving and relatable poem.

  • Kay Husnick4 months ago

    I understand why you chose to share this on Vocal+Assist based on your theme for the day. This definitely deserves more recognition!

  • Celia in Underland4 months ago

    River this is just beautiful x The circularity of numb, light hearted acceptance is just perfect x And you painted the picture! Truly so talented!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.