Poets logo

Carnival Ride

Day Poem 9

By Monica Spirit HawkPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Carnival Ride
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

Beside the fire and it’s cold here

Wherever you aren’t there is a breeze

In my heart

And we are so often apart

All the time I want to make you

Mine

Scattering sweetness

Across your lips

Fingers entwined.

Maybe it’s your footsteps on the

Stairs out back

Or the way your crazy stories

Make me laugh, utterly

Unencumbered by all the crap

We were told by

The shadows and the old

Connecting from places we know

So bold to

Even try.

My sky is noisy and full

Of stars

I sit and tell my dreams you are

The someone who

Can hold a

Wound carefully in scented

Palms

Only once in this lifetime can we

Fit so perfectly

In someone’s arms.

All night like a rocking chair

The way you held

Me there,

Every breath a harmonica

Tune on a Gypsy stage

There is no age to this and no way

To see the end

I’ll bend instead to the mystery.

Don’t know when I’ll see you

Close enough to touch

All that matters is

I will

And we will

Create a space

Just for us.

I know what love

Is.

It’s sitting by a fire

Hands cold as ice

While the months and miles

Loom visible

In the flames behind

My eyes

Replaying every moment

Between you and I

Like a carnival ride.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Monica Spirit Hawk

Mother, Lover, Goddess, Warrior.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.