Poets logo

Carcinogenic

Funny how Poison can be so Pleasant

By Hayley MattoPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
11

Consume me.

Ravage me like an animal.

I want to be chased, I want to feel sought after. Untamable.

A teaspoon of Fear is easy to exchange in the brain for Enticement.

Confusion can be Consuming.

It's all fun and games- until -I've realized this is something you've done all too many times before. That for you the game is more then Predictable but Pleasurable.

Perfectly planned, in fact, I fell into you like a moth is drawn to a flame. Uncontrollable desire to you until the Diatribe broke the tangible silence.

Play turned to Prey, a deadly Predator you revealed gnashing teeth in vocal tirades, touching me with your words in a way that still felt violating.

Tossing my mind with manipulation & mind games, masquerading as the consumer, and I your treat. Your play-thing to be used, just like the last, gnawed down to the bone and then discarded once the bone's been had and fuc- Plucked.

You were crafty though, allowing the feeling of control to dance around my mind. Thrusting false authority upon me, was the best advantage you could have planted. An illusion of control is often all that's needed.

Carcinogenic.

You ebbed into me feelings of delight & flavor, not all together healthy but wrong in the best way. You made me feel like I was getting away with something so dirty, naughty, tasty... Funny how poison can be so pleasant.

A taste was all it took to tether me in. That should have been all I needed to know this wasn't so spontaneous- instead a ploy for your next meal. A fixation you have mastered & I was just the next course you had mused after.

It was too late by the time my minds eye opened and I had realized I was just this months preferable flavor. I had gotten lost in the dance before dinner, your dialect delectable, disorienting... wait I'm in Danger.

~~~

This was for the wonderful Sleepy Drafts March Music Challenge! This was so very fun to write for, and truly such an amazing concept for a challenge. I can't wait to see the other entries as more and more people blend their passions and get inspired!! This song inspired Sleepy Drafts to write this feisty piece Artichoke Hearts, I definitely recommend checking it out and all the other entries that came in for this song, or any of the others offered this month! 🖤 Thanks for reading!

heartbreakProseFilthy
11

About the Creator

Hayley Matto

Just a 26yr old processing the 🌎 one sh*tty poem at a time. Need human connection or just killing time?

Read some thoughts by She.

-P.S. that’s me.

Insta: @thoughts.by.she 🖤 Thanks for tuning in! Much Love.

Shout Out to ViM 🤍 Love 'em.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Excellent used of "plucked"!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Haley, this is a fabulous take on those poisonous people we have all encountered; it made me think of vampires sucking the life out of others for their own end. Excellent work!!!

  • sleepy draftsabout a month ago

    WOW, Hayley - oooooh, I felt every word of this. Each line was so rich and full of fire; a smoldering, slow burn. This is excellent. Thank you so much for writing this - I *love* it.💓💘

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    Wow. 👏

  • Yes, I totally understand how that poison can taste so pleasant. Been there before. Loved your entry to this challenge!

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Excellent! Good luck in the challenge.

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    Oh, I love this, Hayley! You have such a beautiful and intense way with your words. This is a great submission for the Hozier music video! I have my work cut out for me. 😊

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Nicely done! Good Luck in the challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.