Poets logo

it's human & it's allowed

even if you and I never equal a we

By Hayley MattoPublished 2 months ago โ€ข Updated 2 months ago โ€ข 2 min read
6
it's human & it's allowed
Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

This is unexpected

& I'm not sorry.

No one talks about the first crush after a break up. That's a lie, Rebounds.

But that's not what I'm talking about here people, I'm talking about the kind of crush that reminds you why you ever believed in Love in the first place.

The type of reminder as to why people can be so inspirational and how beautiful passionate people are. It's the sexiest thing a human can be if you ask me. People like to say it's confidence, but I think it's passion.

Watching someone fall in love with their craft. Watching their brain gears grind, and the light shine bright from their eye, like the glimmer of the sunset off a lake, blinding in it's raw direct beauty.

Watching you do what you do best babe, it's a treat.

The icing on the cake will always be when you are so beyond proud of you, too.

It's what makes me smile more then anything else. Giddy like a child outside a candy store, you being you, has reminded me the value of dropping my walls in order to support people like you. You so unsure of yourself, despite having every necessity to be proven. Humans need connection. Connection is a slippery slope to Care.. which is nothing more then Love in a cute outfit waiting to feel comfortable enough to take a layer or two off.

Babe, thank you.

Thank you, for being my crush, even if you and I never equal a we.

You still brought a Skill? Emotion? Ability? Human part-of myself back to life. One I thought got stolen when the last one broken my heart. I thought I gave this part of me away, that it now belonged to someone who betrayed me. But you-You, reached in deep and yanked what was a dying match into a full flame. An empathic ability I thought was gone has returned and it's being presented to you in a way I never thought I'd be capable of doing again.

So to my Crush, Thank you, for reminding me I have love to give, and that even if it's unexpected it's human & it's allowed. It never died, just hid away deep inside waiting for it to be safe to be shared again.

XOXO-

thoughts by she

Gratitudelove poemsinspirationalexcerpts
6

About the Creator

Hayley Matto

Just a 26yr old processing the ๐ŸŒŽ one sh*tty poem at a time. Need human connection or just killing time?

Read some thoughts by She.

-P.S. thatโ€™s me.

Insta: @thoughts.by.she ๐Ÿ–ค Thanks for tuning in! Much Love.

Shout Out to ViM ๐Ÿค Love 'em.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Bansfield -Pen Name K.R.Fieldsabout a month ago

    Iโ€™m not sure if you have Poetizer. I do..I channel my poetry through there. Iโ€™d really like to see you on that app too! :) thereโ€™s a lot of people (as there are here) who show a tremendous amount of love and support! I have about 50 poems (maybe more) Iโ€™d love for you to check them out.

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Love the hope and joy in this! I agree tough passion and belief can override most self doubt. Such a heartwarming piece - love it!

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Ohhh Iโ€™m so glad you wrote this. An important perspective on catching feels after one relationship ended. โ€œ Thank you, for reminding me I have love to giveโ€ this on its own is a poem

  • Yes, it's hidden deep inside until the right one finds it!

  • Suze Kay2 months ago

    This is so cute and soul warming ๐Ÿ˜ญ may we all be this crush, and also have it. Lovely story Hayley ๐Ÿ’•

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.