Writers logo

Music Video Writing Prompts: March

A Monthly (Unofficial) Musical Mini-Challenge

By sleepy draftsPublished 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 6 min read
21

I've been working on this project for about two years. For those two years, I had no idea how to translate this idea into an article. Not effectively, at least. Not in the way I wanted to.

Then L.C. posted a microfiction for every community on Vocal.

Then, the Vocal "Writers" community came along.

Next, Vocal users like Poppy and Mackenzie started releasing "unofficial mini challenges."

Suddenly, inspired by Vocal writers' creativity, a solution hit me.

Let me explain

I'm a glutton for music videos. I was 7 years old when I found the music video for Evanescence's "Bring Me to Life" and never looked back.

Music videos brought the songs I loved to life and gave me a story to get lost in. Later on, as a teen, I would use music videos and song titles to inspire me to write when I was feeling stuck or "emotionally clogged." As an adult, my house parties were known for the weird and trippy music videos playing in the background in place of a Spotify playlist.

Something about music videos makes the music a little fuller. We get to see a new interpretation of the songs we love. We're invited to imagine alongside the artist.

In my time on Vocal, I've often used music videos to inspire my stories. After a while, I was searching for a way to share that same experience of finding inspiration in a medium that some say is dying.

I have a soft spot for music videos. I don't want people to stop making them because fewer people are watching them.

Originally

I planned to take a year, find a music video with some character or storyline for every community on Vocal, and then write a short story for each. Next, I would compile the whole thing into a massive document.

As I was chipping away at it, something occurred to me, though...

This was a heckin' long document.

With 48 communities, 1 video + 1 story/poem per community, and an explanation for the whole thing...it was hard to digest. Even for me, the person who wrote it.

In the drafts it stayed.

It wasn't until I started seeing mini-challenges pop up that it occurred to me how to share my love of music video writing prompts.

The Prompt

So, I've decided to share some music video prompts and a small challenge.

At the beginning of each month, I'll post 5 new music videos inspired by 5 communities on Vocal.

5 music video writing prompts.

I also included how these music videos inspired my work, in case you are looking for any examples to get you started.

Each category will have a $5 winner.

You can submit as many times to as many categories as you like.

(I've compiled all the juicy details at the end!)

The Goal

This is meant to be a low-key, casual, and fun prompt to keep you going throughout the month. Nothing high-stakes or crazy about it - just a fun little music video and story/poem-writing exercise to keep the creative juices flowin'.

If you want a slightly higher-stakes unofficial challenge, keep your eyes out for Sleepy Missions co-hosted by myself and Rick from Vocal + Assist!

So... let's get into it!

01 | "WICKED" by MILKBOOD x PVRIS

With so much talk of AI on Vocal, recently, I figured what better way to cathart than through poetry and fiction inspired by Vocal's 01 community? Here's a music video to get your gears a-turnin'.

"WICKED" inspired my story from Vocal's Micro Heist challenge in June 2023. I was curious about who MILKBLOOD and PVRIS' characters were and what exactly they might be engineering...

Blush | "6/10" by dodie

We've all had days where we've felt like a 6 out of 10.

I love dodie's music video, but I was sad with how it ended, so... I decided to write a different ending, instead!

The "6/10" music video inspired my story, "Patio Girls," from July 2023 about finding connection despite dealing with insecurity.

Feast | "Dinner & Diatribes" by Hozier

Is it about food? Is it about control? Is it about heartbreak? Is it about desire? The choice is yours.

"Dinner & Diatribes" inspired my March 2024 poem, "Artichoke Hearts" about the fine line between feeling desired and like prey.

Futurism | "SLOW DANCING IN THE DARK" by Joji

Fame and heartbreak: two intoxicating feelings, one we may never know, the other, universal. The interpretations of this music video are endless.

In 2021 during Vocal's Doomsday Diary challenge, "SLOW DANCING IN THE DARK" inspired this story about an ambiguous character with a morally questionable task to carry out in this dreary, near-apocalyptic world.

Psyche | "Waves" by Miguel (Tame Impala Remix)

Wonder and waves... what could be a better combo?

This music video played while I wrote "Horizons" for the Dancing With Distraction challenge in May 2023. The song's video perfectly reflects how I feel dancing with those wandering brainwaves some days.

The Short Version

The prompt:

Each music video is inspired by a different community on Vocal. Use the music video attached to the community to inspire your short story or poem.

The interpretation is entirely up to you; you can drift as far away from the prompt as you'd like, as long as it's somewhere along the horizon. So long as I can tell which video/community it's for, that's enough for me.

If you are inspired by a different music video or community that isn't listed yet, still leave your piece in the comments! There will be more communities and music videos coming in the future. Plus, I always love to know what you guys listen to and what inspires you!

The rules:

  • There is no limit to the number of entries you can submit or the number of categories you can submit to.
  • If you're using one of the music video prompts provided, it can be slotted in whichever community you see fit. If you're using one of your own music video prompts, it just has to fit one of the provided communities.
  • There will be different communities and music videos featured each month. If you have a different music video/community prompt prepared, still publish and keep it close - feel free to add it to the comments so it can be submitted to the appropriate article when that community is featured in upcoming months!
  • Your interpretation of the music video is entirely up to you. Feel free to explain at the end or not - either way is awesome!
  • The way the entries will be organized is by the listed communities (For example, if you write a Fiction based off the Psyche music video, it will be under Psyche; if you use your own music video to write an article for Psyche, it will be listed under Psyche, etc.,)
  • Leave your entries in the comment section of this piece.

Deadline:

31 March, 2024

The prize:

Each category will have one 1st place winner. Each winner will receive a $5 tip.

One writer can win in a maximum of 2 categories.

The communities featured for March:

  • 01
  • Blush
  • Feast
  • Futurism
  • Psyche

To read February's Eavesdropping Sleepy Mission Winners, check out the link below:

Happy Writing!

Entries

01

x

Blush

x

Feast

Hayley Matto, "Carcinogenic"

(Inspired by the Feast music video + the Psyche community)

x

Futurism

x

Psyche

Natasha Collazo - "Psyche/ Death Cab for Cutie"

Writer's BlockWriting ExerciseVocalPromptsProcessInspirationChallenge
21

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Alyssa Nicoleabout a month ago

    Finally finished my submission (which turned out to be a bit longer than I expected...)! https://vocal.media/fiction/intoxicating-intentions "Dinner & Diatribes" seems to be a popular one! It was such a good choice for this challenge. And like Kalina, I ended up listening to more of Hozier because of this music video. He is one of my current favorites.

  • Kalina Bethanyabout a month ago

    A poem that the Feast category feature video "Dinner and Diatries" by Hozier inspired https://vocal.media/poets/hollow-bonds. Kudos for this exciting and novel challenge, Em! On a personal note, this allowed me to explore the artist more than I already thought I knew his work. This was thrilling and ironic because my best friend and I get to see him perform live in August. Fingers crossed this is one of the songs for nostalgia sake!

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    Tried to get this one posted in psyche but word count restrictions πŸ€ͺ so poetry it is. But this was what came flowing out after leaving Hozier’s Dinner & Diatribes on repeat πŸ”. This was so fun Em! If I find myself with more time this month I may try another. Really appreciate you sharing these, this challenge is super great at getting the creative juices flowin!! https://vocal.media/poets/carcinogenic

  • Kalina Bethany2 months ago

    Oh I’m so excited for this Em… the Hozier music video made me cry ugly tears and inspired both a poem & short story. I also cannot believe this has been in the works for you for so long, kudos for achieving this dream! 🀩 I’ll be seeing Hozier in August here in Winnipeg, and the star of the music video is an actor I’ve been obsessed with - so it seems meant to be for me to write your challenge (yet again!)

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    This might be a stupid question🫣but does the story necessarily need to be submitted to one of those communities if we're using one of the specific music videos you have above, or can it be submitted to something more general like Fiction or Poets?

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Omg!! I feel the same way! Sometimes I need music to create a vision or guide me to develop a story. Loved the song choices! ❀️Great piece! ❀️

  • I've never been big on music videos. Okay maybe like in the late 2000s but that was about it. I'm so impressed to see how big of a role music videos played in your writing. I'm not the kinda person that gets inspired by pictures, things, etc. Lol, I know I'm weird. I'll sit this one out. Buttttt, if something strikes, then I'll submit an entry! Looking forward to reading all the entries!

  • This sounds like it could be quite interesting & fun, Em. Whether or not I can come up with something will have to be seen.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    This may be cheating, because it's not the kind of music video you probably intended. However, it is a piece inspired by a song and the YouTube link is embedded at the bottom. It's something I wrote a few years back, and recently edited, but haven't done anything with it. Your challenge prompted me to go ahead and post it on Vocal. It's in The Swamp Community. Disregard for purposes of the challenge if it's not suitable. https://vocal.media/theSwamp/bring-back-the-maccabee-version

  • Susan FourtanΓ©2 months ago

    This is a brilliant idea!

  • Great idea and I am sure it will be a great success

  • Alyssa Nicole2 months ago

    This is an amazing idea! I love how music can influence writing!

  • Kageno Hoshino2 months ago

    This is great!!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Ooh, how exciting! I may try this and see what happens, lol! Regardless, I'm excited to read the entries, and your stories, too, Em.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Now I know the origins of my favorite artichoke heart poem! What an amazing and unique way to source writing inspiration. It must work for you because the pieces you've shared here are among my favorites that I've read from you.

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    This is absolutely AMAZING!!! What a fantastic idea!! Such a fun combo of to passions. I can't wait to see what gets created from this, and also THANK YOYU!! I know for me is going to help so much with the writers block struggles. Em you're awesome!!!

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    What. Great synthesis of two passions.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Wonderful idea. I'm not sure it would work for me, but good luck to all who enter.

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    YOU GOT ME, IM IN. I have fallen inlove with Ghostly Kisses ever since you posted them, and they visit my playlist quite frequently now. So I love this challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.