Poets logo

Camping Before The 4th Of July

My brother's birthday was yesterday, and we are celebrating it today.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
Camping Before The 4th Of July
Photo by Austin Pacheco on Unsplash

Mostly I remember them as babies, or young, oh

or making faces like the ones in the photo.

Who knew they could get so old?

I know they will never be so bold

as to say how old, as two are now 49.

So I have to say one brother was 69

oops, he was 68 yesterday.

We are celebrating today.

~

One was adopted last year and

he is 67, and he will probably stand

at that age, then one is 65

60 years old for birth order 5.

He won't talk age,

he would rather burn some sage.

Well, something that smells like it,

at least I haven't smelled the skunk sh_t

~

Time to get on the road as hubby is pacing.

We don't have to check in until 2:00

and the gathering is at 2:30, oh

and I only have a quick stop

to pick up some pop.

Soda for him as he lives in Texas.

Sometimes they can be crass

When I say the words are different in the South.

~

Okay, okay, it is time to say Hey, lets go both

of my bags are ready to load in the camper.

I am ready to scamper!

For FunFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    It is really familial Denise!!!

  • Sarah Daniela day ago

    A nostalgic and humorous reflection on aging and family, capturing the passage of time and evolving relationships with warmth and vivid imagery.

  • Mark Graham2 days ago

    Happy Birthday to all of them also. Today is my birthday July 1. A nice quiet day is fine with me. Good work on all your poems.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.