Poets logo

Trying to Understand

A Dialogue Poem of The Stolen Generation

By Linda BromleyPublished 3 days ago Updated 3 days ago 1 min read

🌸 “I don’t understand it”

🌼 “What’s that?”

🌸 “Why it’s still an issue today”

🌼 “It’s still an issue because people still hurt

🌸 “But why are they hurting… today?”

🌼 “We hurt because it’s generational, it’s our identity, it’s about belonging”

🌸 “Oh wow, that’s a lot of stuff”

🌼 “Yes, and the grief never stops”

🌸 “But… it happened so long ago”

🌼 “Well, yes but also, not really, it still happened to me

🌸 “Oh what? It did?”

🌼 “Yes, you knew I was taken away”

🌸 “Yeah...” (Pause) “How has it affected you then?”

🌼 “Well, I don’t belong anywhere really. I don’t have roots”

🌸 “Yeah, I guess you grew up without culture”

🌼 “That’s right. Away from culture, language, family, country

🌸 “Whoah! That’s a lot to deal with”

🌼 “Yes, I never fit anywhere, there’s always a piece missing”

🌸 “Oh, do you ever feel whole?”

🌼 “Only around my people, my mob, on country”

🌸 “I’ve heard there’s a spirituality to it too”

🌼 “Yes! Big time! My heart aches for country. Each day my spiritual link to the land gets stronger”

🌸 “I guess I’ll never get it”

🌼 “No, sorry, not unless you’re Aboriginal”

🌸 “Hmmm!”

🌼 “And every Aboriginal person still feels it whether they were stolen or not”

🌸 “Nooo. Every person? Surely you jest?”

🌼 “No, because every family is affected by stolen members, the grief never fades.”

🌸 “I can’t even fathom that to be honest”

🌼 “No, and it strips you of all identity and belonging”

🌸 “Ouch”

🌼 “It becomes a lifelong search to find your home, where you belong spiritually”

🌸 “Well, we belong to God”

🌼 “Yes, I’m so thankful for that”

🌸 “No one can steal you from HIS family”

🌼 “Yes, you’re so right! I’m adopted by Him forever!”

🌸 “So you can get your identity there”

🌼 “Yep! At the foot of the cross”

🌸 “How awesome is that?!!!!!!”

🌼 “Yes, how awesome is that!✝️”

Prosesocial commentaryheartbreakGratitudeFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Linda Bromley

Just one of many creative outlets for me has been books! My whole life I’ve loved them and it’s so easy to make the jump to writing.

Recently I completed a poetry challenge and now, looking for more excuses to write, I’ve found myself here!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 days ago

    So happy to read this. Awesome!

Linda BromleyWritten by Linda Bromley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.