Poets logo

By the Throat

hoarse of course

By Brenton FPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read

life is an endless barrage of thrills

a rollercoaster of up and down spills

its got chills and it’s got ills

although…

it hasn’t got me by the throat today

life a constant game of contested wits

and sometimes yes, it gives us the shits

especially the supporting cast of twits

yet…

it hasn’t got me by the throat today

life is an ever changing battlefield

defend, attack, flank or yield?

it might be free will or a fate sealed

and…

it hasn’t got me by the throat today

life…yeah it can get me down make me blue

and sometimes there’s simply nothing you can do

gotta ride it out, gotta see it through

because…

it hasn’t got me by the throat today

it’s got me by the arm, the leg

it’s got me by my spine

it’s got my guts, it’s got my nuts

it’s got nearly everything that’s mine

it’s got its hand under the skin of my back

like some grotesque puppet flayed

it’s got me in so many different ways

but NOT by the throat today

and i plan not to let it

have me by the throat tomorrow either

social commentary

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is raw and powerful, and I love the ending.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    This made me laugh! Was it meant to? If it wasn’t then I totally did not find it amusing. But knowing you this is meant to be darkly humorous.. Anyhow really enjoyed ya piece! 😁

  • Oh my, that's so scaryyyy. I hope you're okay 🥺

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I love the perseverance in this.

  • Andrew C McDonald6 months ago

    Very visceral and striking. Great job Brenton.

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.