Poets logo

By the Light of Darkness

A Song of Regret

By Jack DrakePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
7
By the Light of Darkness
Photo by Joshua Newton on Unsplash

"By the Light of Darkness"

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Old fire, burning bright, fire burn away the night!

Wood's fairy spirit release, would that these feelings cease.

Holes in the curtain of night they seem, still the stars hold their gleam!

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Bright is the dance of the flame! Will things remain the same?

Trees as guardians of the missed, have everything I risked?

Though the healing water is near, why stand I on the shore, still in fear?

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Great is the darkness to hide, would that I could inside!

All our faces fire-lit, wonder of love: What use is it?

Moments rushing swift by, from tears not smoke - burning eyes!

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Everything lost - spent! Separate without movement.

Forbidden words spoken, too soon was the warm silence broken.

The way things had happened was good, had I not done what I thought I should!

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

The cold of night's late frown, despite our fire came down.

As does the stream and trunk of tree, parted ways as branches we.

Where once was the magic of life sweet, only a lonely fate to meet!

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Fire but ash now cold, morning moves through forest, bold!

She has departed from the green, thus fades a warmth seldom seen.

My soul I feared could not be redeemed, my words that held more than they seemed.

Old fire burn the night, bring me to her sight!

Healing pure water deep, my heart she will keep.

Magic no longer here, still forever dear!

Years pass with visions dim, journeys in the interim.

On nights when the old fire burns, time passes and the world turns.

From the moonlight and dark sky she dances, there are no second chances!

-- J.R.H.

love poemsart
7

About the Creator

Jack Drake

It is what it is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.