Poets logo

Bundle of joy?

A poem for the inverse challenge

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Bundle of joy?
Photo by Zoe Graham on Unsplash

I question myself, am I out of my depth?

Reflecting on self and trying to catch my breath

Life is frayed and I can’t seem to hold her

Life is dismayed and I can’t even tell her

-

Giving up is easier, just set me free

This small slice of life is too much for me

The familial affinity

The pressure and responsibility

The pleasure and fragility

I’m frightened, admittedly

-

Why did I think this?

It’s a blessing I witnessed

My mind is restless

I feel defenceless

The joy is endless

~~~

Author's note: This is my first attempt at an inverse poem and it's definitely a hard way to write one. This is a fictional person of course, and don't ask me why I chose such a topic for this because I have no idea; I wrote the first two lines intended for it to be a normal poem (not for the challenge), and then the idea for this hit me, so I went with it. Hope it worked out.

social commentarysad poetryFamily
6

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I like how you get the change in emotions no matter which way you read it, which possibly the struggles and triumphs of being a new parent. It’s an honest and needed look at what fatherhood/motherhood can be like 👏 “This small slice of life is too much for me” is a great line, and your use of rhyme and repetition helps the poem to flow nicely. Good luck in the challenge😊

  • Oooo, you executed this so brilliantly! I especially loved reading it bottom to top! It hits harder! Loved it so much!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Great job and it definitely works both ways.

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Wow, this works very well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.