Poets logo

Bullshit

Call it what you want

By Judey Kalchik Published 7 months ago 1 min read
35
https://pixabay.com/users/wir_sind_klein-6630807/

blowing smoke

baseless flattery

outright lies

‘It’s my favorite!’

‘Have you lost weight?’

baloney

-

‘It will be different this time’

bunkum

‘You can trust me’

burn me once

‘You know I love you’

butter wouldn’t melt in your mouth

hogwash

-

empty promises

‘No one does it better’

malarkey

wait until next year

‘I didn’t mean it the way you took it’

well bless your heart, honey

poppycock

-

two-faced

lying

opportunistic

inauthentic

gibbering rubbish

~

I've got news for you- it don't smell like roses to me anymore.

Dress it up and call it what you want- it smells the same.

Smell it once and you can smell it again a mile away.

News Flash: I'm not attracted to that smell anymore.

~~

While you’re here, please do one or all of the following!

1. Leave a comment and share your thoughts. what do YOU call it?

2. Click on the little heart to let me know that this clicked with you.

3. Click on the subscribe button and get a FREE notification when my next post goes live.

I have some humdingers gathered here for you on my collection of Vocal Top Stories. FREE TO READ!

social commentaryperformance poetrylist
35

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    Reminds me of Jeff Goldblum's line, "That's one big pile of shit."

  • Rene Peters2 months ago

    This piece is amazing!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    You got me wondering what the trigger for this one was! Long-time coming, no doubt, though. Great read; inauthenticity is the smelliest of the miasmas...

  • Meagan Dion7 months ago

    Love it!

  • An excellent rant

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Love it!

  • Kenny Penn7 months ago

    Oooo so good Judey! (No bullshit) This one is easily one of the best I’ve read

  • JBaz7 months ago

    This was a goody. One of those pieces where I say to myself. “Self, why didn’t you write this?” My phrase, ‘stop being a politician and speak the truth’.

  • We used to drive by the two towns where we now live & work fairly frequently on our way to meetings in other places. There's a large feedlot right next to the highway between the two towns where the drill was always the same: roll up the windows, close the vents, breathe as little as possible & just hope that you make it through before either you smell it or pass out. Now that we live here & drive by all the time, I barely even notice it if at all. I guess whether it's feedlots or empty platitudes, you either get used to & ignore it or you move someplace else.

  • Test7 months ago

    This is excellent. Beautifully done Judey.

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Ms. 'j' - So much B.S. Wafting around of late - you are a Fragrance of Fresh air. 'j'

  • ARC7 months ago

    Good. 💩 Awesome one, Judey. Love your work itself, and love just as much what it seems to represent for you. 💙

  • J. S. Wade7 months ago

    Donkey dust! Great read Judey. 😎

  • Berry Driven7 months ago

    Good for you. B.S. never smelt fragrant to me, and I'm glad you don't like it anymore. Made me think of songs that talk about pretty lies. No matter how cute you say it, it's still a lie and doesn't change anything.

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Look like you had fun with this poem 😊You forgot , What in tarnation!!! Great Job !!!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Brilliantly powerful!!! No bull!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Yup 💚👌📝

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Indeed.

  • Test7 months ago

    Love this! You captured the fakeness so perfectly *I'd call it fake as fuck and I'm bored. Or maybe, if it looks, smells and sounds like bullshit. Then that's exactly what it it. Probably, or words to that effect! 🤍

  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    Whew I have some people I want to say this to!!!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    Wow. That was powerful. I really felt it, and I can definitely relate to it. Great job.

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Well, there's a catchy title! It took me .853 seconds to click my way here. I enjoyed the way you laid it on the line!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    But… but… you know I love your writing… no one does it better then you.. I swear it’s not poppycock… great piece! And bless your heart for writing this! This made me laugh for some reason, all the different names you thought of for dishonesty. I usually call it horsesh** like my grandmother. Sometimes I’ll yell “Bull” if someone’s lying or I think they are. Or I’ll condescendingly say “I don’t know if that’s true or not… but I guess it sounds like it could be…” it depends on my mood and the person I’m talking to lol. But yah usually horsesh** works for me!

  • Moe Radosevich7 months ago

    scorched hearts spit fire, 🙆‍♀️, I like it, 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.