Poets logo

Broken until you sat across the room

When we first met

By Steffany PopePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
8

Sitting in what used to be a stinky old garage, now a makeshift studio,

I’m at a small get together; one by one the number of attendees grow.

Being a tad bit antisocial I take a seat in the corner, just like Jennifer Grey,

My anxiety of crowds intensifies, all of a sudden the room was concave.

Tightness in my chest grows as the room shrinks,

Anxiously waiting, I’m on a mental brink.

From darkness to light and back to darkness again,

Lids fluttering, I take a deep breath and then…

The feeling of eyes burning through my skin, I look up and it was him,

As the crowd starts to part, my patience with reality wears thin.

Staring at me from across the room our eyes meet,

An overwhelming feeling of lust flows through me.

Flushed with desire, my heart beats harder and louder,

The stronghold of curiosity becomes something not in my power.

Distant echoes of the others in the room, the blasting music goes silent,

Attempting to resist I try to look away, but my body is noncompliant.

I cannot control my eyes and when I look up to find in my direction him ogling,

I’ve never felt in all my life a magnetic pull so strong so mind boggling.

As the night comes to an end, I can’t help but think,

exactly who was this guy that made heart sink?

No words were spoken, not even a hi or hello,

This can’t be happening, my walls dropped so low?

I mean, what is this; am I going senile?

My guard and my anxiety diminishing, and my heart pounding to say I just ran a mile?

Granted, not a word came out either of us,

However, it was as though our lives in its entirety, we’ve discussed.

Nothing was vocal, how can these feelings be manifesting?

Could my heart be crossing over that thin line between sanity and love, is it testing?

The limits of where I allow my heart to be open,

All because my past has left me broken.

I don’t believe in love at first sight,

Yet my heart tells me “I just might. “

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.