Poets logo

Ode to Thee

The Faithful Cannabis Tree

By Steffany PopePublished 9 months ago 2 min read
6
Ode to Thee
Photo by Esteban López on Unsplash

Oh, Cannabis Tree, oh Cannabis Tree,

Oh, how I want to smoke thee.

But my asthma says nay,

“You can’t smoke today!”

Oh, the levels of enlightenment that you take me,

Do away with it all; the pain, the anger, the anxiety.

Just to have that chill vibe,

That you bring when I’m high.

When the cancer got rough,

You stuck by me, tough.

If it weren’t for you, oh cannabis tree,

I could not hold on to my sanity.

I am more focused, but also relaxed,

You allow me to drop my many masks.

My shrink tells me, that she cannot say,

Whether or not you would provide any aid.

But damn, the cravings.

Got me saving.

Dark chocolate shavings.

For the Chantilly cake I’ve been making.

I would be behind a writer's block, if not for you.

Having only words from poems about violets being blue.

Oh Cannabis Tree, oh Cannabis Tree,

Oh how I want to smoke thee.

But the nutritionist hates,

How I eat what I crave.

And when I eat those chips,

It all goes to my hips.

And when you get down to a doob.

I end up looking like a noob.

Holding on to you with my fingertips,

I always end up burning my lips.

Health concerns are the reasons why I cannot smoke,

Also because, my ribs fracture when you make me choke.

Oh, Cannabis Tree, oh Cannabis Tree,

Oh, how I want to smoke thee.

But for now, I will admire you from afar,

And try to avoid all that smoke and tar.

I’m sticking to the edibles,

And things seem to be a bit more delectable.

I can have you in drops, brownies, cookies, or a gummy,

As I sit back and relax, I wait for you to hit my tummy.

Oh, Cannabis Tree. Oh, Cannabis Tree.

This here bud is for thee.

___________________________________________________

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create, just like everybody else. I also happen to say what most are thinking, but are hesitant on saying out loud...

Check it out...

humor
6

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Why do I hear Cypress Hill as I read this? Feels like a real song...

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Love this! I’m an edibles fan too. Cannabis has changed my life for the better in so many ways.

  • I'm a Nutritionist, lol! I loved your ode so much!

  • Ha,😁❤️💯📝😉👍🌳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.