Poets logo

Broken-down

poem about writing out raw emotions

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 21 days ago 1 min read
Sketch by Author - Nagoh Creative

I ripped my heart from the inside out

I cut the strings where feelings sprout

I cried and tried to make it bleed

the pain I caused would not recede

I crashed and fell onto the floor

I begged and tried to ask for more

I lay there and wished to be held

but never once did I not yell

a broken me sits and writes

nothing inside feels that bright

cast and bound to mend myself

burned and lost in lust and filth

I fade away with nothing left

just tears and fears of a broken-down gift

...

Something I have found as of late that is very helpful is sketching. I do not profess to be an excellent artist when it comes to drawing, but I have found it very relaxing, much the same as putting words to paper. They can be very raw, or they can be a projection of emotions that come and go from past experiences. 

I included one of my sketches as the image for this poem. It symbolizes growth in either direction as I explore my poetry, art, and photography in this season of my life.

Authors Note: Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. That is why I share my vulnerable heart openly. Thank you for your support.

art

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran20 days ago

    I loved your artwork and your poem was so poigant and emotional

  • Haha. It is top notched.

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.