Poets logo

Bright ll

Poem

By ShalløwPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
thank you for being my friend

A part of me was seen that only you can see.

I didn't know I was capable of bearing fruits upon this accursed tree.

You pieced together something whole when I knew I was incomplete.

You earned a crown in eternity rightfully.

Even when I struck you down you stayed close to reveal the pain I forgot about.

You shined brightly when I was lost making me found.

When I thought I had to speak I was reminded I don't have to make a sound.

You taught me a solemnity, a focus perceived as impossible; change happened and I thought It was implausible.

You seek freedom but help others find theirs; you helped me when in the moment you knew I never cared.

I was lost until I found a hand when I was scared.

I couldn't even shed tears, but I found something to hold onto when I was afraid of my fears

It must've been hard to fight those wars for my sake

Everyday for so many years when I wasn't there

You crossed walls that've been desolate since the beginning.

I was losing in every way but you wanted to see me winning.

You hurt for me; that's painful knowing you know I'm still sinning.

It's incredible how you can still be so forgiving.

I'm blessed everyday because of you. I don't think you realize your own value.

I knew the way I always thought was true, but your ideas, thoughts and aspirations were something new.

You gave hints at life when I got stuck and had no clue.

To be saved is truly incredible as a part of the chosen few.

I was tossed by the wind but you showed me how to make amends and even gave me the ground to hang on too.

You realized I was my own friend, knowing that, I don't think you ever judged the things I did.

You showed compassion, had faith, but most importantly shaked your head and chose to love me instead of hate.

That was a simple act for you, but you made the biggest impact on a dying souls life.

You were the first to make me reflect on where I'd go when I die.

I crushed you one day, but you didn't know that night I stayed up and cried.

You made me pay attention and slowly I got the best advice.

I've lived for what felt like so long but I'm still amazed at how one can be so nice.

Emotionally you've been there when I couldn't be strong.

You have the words to make my mind right even though it got twisted that same night.

Though I'm now taller than you; I could never place myself on the same level, that's just true.

My pride has built a castle of protection, but you saw right through those misdirections.

No matter what I've done, to you I've just been clear.

And still after so long you showed affection when in the beginning I didn't even consider you a peer.

So after so long I can finally have this chance to say thank you, Sun for being someone I can hold dear.

I know now when the day ends I finally have someone I can say is near.

When the rain begins to fall I don't have to use it to hide my tears.

You'll be there to wipe it and once again make my eyes clear

You've seen me at my worst, but chose to clean my impure core

I know when the Sun sets you'll still have that same smiling cheer

Nothing ever stopped your shining brightness or even your kindness

So for that I hope these memories

never disappear.

-shalløw

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Shalløw

Be the light others can't show, Be the water to the ones who can't grow, Be the friend others wish to know. Don't lose yourself to pain because it might never let go. 031

-19 made it into college lol

-Shalløw

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Drew Nicholson2 years ago

    Absolutely delightful of a read!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.