Poets logo

Breaking Walls

Letting Love In

By Ashleigh HollowayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Breaking Walls
Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

I'm tired of crying all alone here in the dark

Fearing I will never be loved or be able to let anyone in my heart

I'm sick of these thoughts running constantly through my head

as I lie here and think of things as I'm tossing in my bed

The thought of being in love still haunts me

And I am always yearning to be freed

I want to love you and let you set me free

I just need time to accept this

and try to make my demons release and leave me be

I've had my heart trampled on and bruised so deeply

and have gotten lost along the way

How can I let things get so deep when we're not that far along

How can I erase the pain I've held so near for far, far too long

You've gotten so much farther than anyone else

Somehow you've shed some light

where I had thought there was nothing left

You've touched a part of me I'd forgotten was even there

and made me realize maybe someone could really care

you've started a crack in these forbidden walls that hold and bind me so

Maybe they'll break soon-maybe one day I'll be able to let it all go

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holloway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.