Poets logo

New Life

Shame

By Ashleigh HollowayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
New Life
Photo by Akshar Dave on Unsplash

This burning grows within me

as the flame inside goes dim

the indention of your shoulder, your hand in mine

I can almost feel you you again

The coldness of your pillow

the absence of your touch

reminds me that this is all for real

Silence falls upon me

darkness has moved in

I'm drowning in this misery

I haven't the strength to defend

I know I have been selfish

never could I understand

just exactly what I had

such a wonderful, beautiful man

Maybe I took you for granted

and kept pushing you away

but you're all I ever wanted

and I'll never be the same

now I lie here lonely

with only me to blame

I never tried to control you

I just never could overcome

my stupid insecurities

cause I'd never do that to you

All the times you made me laugh

with you and all your charm

our little pillow talks we had

with me lying in your arms

but I had to go and mess that up

now you have a new life to pursue

now I'm cursed to lie here

replaying all the memories

and of how much that I love you.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holloway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.