Poets logo

Breaking The Cycle

The Awakening

By Gabrielle BrownPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Breaking The Cycle
Photo by Nathan Atkinson on Unsplash

BREAKING THE CYCLE

“I’ve counted all the ways to leave,

the times I had no where else to go,

…the pain of healing where I got ill

the fear of reaching out because when I did they shut me out

I was on the edge ready to jump without wings, seeking safety

I took a wrong turn and ended up back in the maze out of fear

It took scars, broken glass, pretending to love to escape

Falling in and out of this haunted house

I’ve counted all the tears and times I bled for you

Every exit to the maze of mirrors somehow only led to you

I could not see it all the way through

I saw broken pieces that I grabbed to piece back together

on hands and knees

I bled for you

My focus was constantly on your pain

I’ve counted every optimistic quote

...all the times I stayed and shouldn’t have

I broke the cycle

I finally broke the cycle of smoke and mirrors

I aired that bitch out

I found my younger self at the end of the maze with a smile

And she whispers,

“Now go tell your story for others who need it…

Be the light you needed…

Be brave. You’re wiser. You’re smarter.

You had to endure this pain to get to where you are now.

All you have done was for a purpose.

You did it.

I’m proud of you.

Now spread your wings and soar.”

-O.G.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Gabrielle Brown

Cali born and raised. LGBT. Writer/poet finding her way through this life.

“Everyone has a unique journey but no one should be a prisoner stuck on a page. We must be free writers... free to write... write to free.” -@iamolivinegabbropoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.