Poets logo

Breaking Free from the Shadows

How I Found the Courage to Walk Away and Reclaim My Happiness

By Haseeb TariqPublished 19 days ago 1 min read

I can still remember the time when I begged for love. I lost my colors. I settled for the "maybe," the "I'll see if I can," and the "I'm tired." Every rejection stung deeply, and over time, I started to believe that maybe, just maybe, that's what I deserved. I thought I should just be grateful for the rare "yes" and sit in the corner, waiting.

"Do you think this is enough?" I asked Maya one evening, my voice barely a whisper.

"I don't know," she replied, her eyes avoiding mine. "Maybe you need to want more for yourself."

It took some time, but I realized I was slowly turning into this broken soul I always feared to be. One rainy afternoon, I found myself staring out the window, the gray clouds mirroring my mood.

"Why do you stay?" asked Jake, his voice gentle but firm.

"I don't know how to leave," I confessed.

Step by step, I dragged my feet, learning that one of the most difficult things in life is to walk away from the things you've always wanted. The days felt endless, every step heavier than the last.

"Are you sure about this?" Maya asked, her concern evident.

"I have to be," I replied, determination in my voice.

I did it because every day felt like it was raining, and I wanted to see the sun again. I did it for the days when laughter would make my stomach hurt. I did it because I wanted to believe that despite the messed-up person I am, despite all the scars and holes in my chest, I deserve another shot at happiness.

"Look at you now," Jake said one sunny morning, smiling. "You did it."

"I know it took a while, but I couldn't be prouder," I said, feeling the warmth of the sun on my face.

love poemsGratitude

About the Creator

Haseeb Tariq

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Mark Graham18 days ago

    If I was still working as a mental health nurse I would use this in one of my depression group activities.

  • Well done on your story.

  • Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Fiction community 😊

Haseeb TariqWritten by Haseeb Tariq

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.